top of page

My most warm-hearted little piece <3

It's finally out! The updated, upgraded version of Miki's Dream.


Those who've followed me for a while may note that I did previously publish a version of this story. It had always been a wonderful piece, but I fear the original images did not at all do it justice. I had worked very hard on those original images, using watercolor. It took a year and a half to complete in images alone, and that was the *second* time of me sketching them out.


You may see much of my own art here, yes, but I am *not* predominately an artist.

I'm a storyteller.


But I've been forced more-or-less to do the visual art portions for lack of resources/funds or (most generally) for lack of people who actually follow through on what they say they'll commit to. It's been a bit rough, to say the least. And so, when after working for about two years on the images while working a fulltime job and some part time work, I realized that the images would not translate into the computer.


At all!


They were faded, washed out, no matter how I scanned or tried to improve them with brightness and contrast adjustments. I was so very disheartened.


My mom, the most supportive person in my life, advised that I go ahead and publish it anyway - that the story held up and that the images truly were lovely and I was beating myself up over very little. So I published it. ... but i always felt awful about it.


So now, with new resolve, with a commitment to put my stories first, and with new skills I've finally developed enough in graphic arts to actually use on some sort of professional level, I REDID THE PICTURES! for the THIRD time! (hahaha!)


And... I'm very, VERY happy with the result.


I do hope you all will like it as well. It's been a touch edited in writing too, to make it a little less verbose. It's my simplest and most warm-hearted piece and so inspirational. Many children deal with feelings of inadequacy or being alone or outcast, even when they try their very best to fit in.


We all are different, and we all have different ways we develop or perceive the world. It's okay. If anything, your own special qualities are what make you stunning in the universe.


I hope you never lose sight of the wonder that is your true self.


Stay gorgeous, people.


- Dani Adams




Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page