top of page

Why I Write

Hello everyone - My name is Dani Adams.

In a world that likes to "define" people, one may call me an author, musician, entrepreneur, film director, and many other things - but if I must define myself, the most fitting title would be "chronicler." I have now taken on this title and use it as my pen-name for my books, "chronicler9" on various forums, and will use it for any coming films I do from now on. This is because of my unshakable and obsessive love for stories - which stems from a love for people and a fascination for their perspectives, cultures, languages, food, ethics...

So often on the news we hear terror stories, one after another, like hunger, illness, violence, and discord, with a scattered story here or there of a child who performed some great deed or other. It's as if we have forgotten how the average man or woman can be so beautiful - flaws and all. By focusing only on evils, we condition ourselves to expect such evils, and it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy from that point on. We are conditioned to accept death when life is still possible, hate before communication is even attempted, defeat when there are still other angles to try... We'll also tend to believe lies because it is easier than fighting for the truth. I write, not to pretend trials and horrors don't exist, but to show as many other angles to our everyday situations as I can. How can we look at one face of an infinitely-angled die and claim that to be the way of the world? There are many ways in the world - and by what I've seen, most of the "ways" (if not all) are paved by us.

Humans.

Beautiful, creative, intelligent, spontaneous, ambitious, baby humans.

I say "baby" because - compared to the universe around us - how old are we really? Can any one of us claim to "be an adult" when we glimpse the grandness around us and realize how small our lifetime really is? Even the oldest among us is still a babe. How much of space have we seen? How much of our own world have we yet to discover? We can't even figure out everything about one certain river or about our prehistoric period or why ships and planes disappear over certain areas of ocean. We have theories, yes, but imagine how much we still have to learn - just on our planet alone. And then add people and emotions and the pursuit and loss or grasp of love - any of which can cause any number of chain reactions, mentally, physically, and spiritually. How much about your own self do you really know?

I don't pretend to be wise or anything - simply attentive... and loving. And believing. I believe in the gold in people. So often chaos is started by the desire for unity that lacked communication, and hate generally from the desire to be loved that did not get filled. Even violence many times occurs by a deep reaction to protect - be it oneself or others. Very good things initiated or tended to very poorly... Again, I won't pretend people who enjoy destruction of others don't exist, but I want to give another voice to the stories I've seen, and revive the childlike spirit of wonder in anyone who would want it.

So I am now The Chronicler - building my case for Wonder. May we never lose it.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page